You are here

USACM Technical Thrust Areas


The primary rationale behind establishing USACM Technical Thrust Areas or TTAs is to invigorate the USACM Executive Council's adopted thrust areas following a structured approach.  The thrust areas should reflect current research trends and priorities in the national and international Computational Engineering and Sciences landscape.

TTA Charter 

Each TTA will be charged with the following tasks:

  1. Organize tracks for mini-symposia in the technical thrust areas at every USNCCM;
  2. Coordinate USACM sponsored thematic conferences and workshops in the TTA;
  3. Be responsible for the organization of at least one thematic conference in a two-year cycle;
  4. Maintain a TTA website documenting all activities;
  5. Each TTA will be reviewed for renewal and continuation, in every two year cycle.


  1. Each TTA will be run by a committee, consisting of a Chair, Vice-Chair and two committee members.  All committee members should be established researchers in the subject area.
  2. Each TTA will be mentored by three members of the USACM EC, who have some understanding of the field.  The primary role of the mentors is to identify and invite members of the TTA committee and provide general operational advice.
  3. Each TTA committee should include at least one junior member of the research community (Assisant Professor, Post-Doctoral Fellow at a national laboratory, etc.).  Diversity (gender and race-based minorities) in the TTA committees should be encouraged.
  4. In the start-up period, USACM EC members who have been identified as mentors of each TTA will work with the broad Computational Engineering and Sciences community to identify members of the TTA committees.
  5. Each TTA will maintain a website with its activities which will be hosted by USACM.

Mentors and Technical Thrust Areas (2015-2017)

TTA Mentors Committee

Novel Methods in Computational Engineering and Sciences

J. Dolbow, N. Sukumar, J.S. Chen

Chair:  C. Armando Duarte, University of Illinois

Vice-Chair: W.K. Liu, Northwestern University

Members:  John Foster, University of Texas-Austin

Deborah Sulsky, University of New Mexico

Isogeometric Analysis Y. Bazilevs, T.J.R.Hughes, D. Benson

Chair: Jessica Zhang, Carnegie Melon University

Vice-Chair: Michael Scott, Brigham Young University

Members: Michael Borden, North Carolina State University

John Evans, University of Colorado-Boulder

Multi-Scale, Multi-functional Materials and Structures S. Ghosh, T. Zohdi, A. Masud

Chair: N. Aluru, University of Illinois

Vice-Chair: Christian Linder, Stanford

Members: M. Koslowski, Purdue University

J. El-Awady, Johns Hopkins University

Shawn Chester, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Uncertainty Quantification and Probabilstic Modeling R. Ghanem, J.T. Oden J.S. Chen

Chair: Jim Stewart, Sandia National Laboratories

Vice-Chair: Robert Moser, ICES, University of Texas at Austin

Members: Serge Prudhomme, Ecole Polytechnique de Montréal/ICESUniversity of Texas at Austin

Abani Patra, University of Buffalo

Computational Fluid Dynamics and Fluid-Structure Interaction

A. Masud, Y. Bazilevs, T.J.R. Hughes

Chair: Tayfun Tezduyar, Rice University

Vice-Chair: Ming-Chen Hsu, Iowa State University

Members: John Evans, University of Colorado-Boulder

Yue Yu, Lehigh University

Nanotechnology and Lower Scale Phenomena H. Park, N. Sukumar, S. Ghosh

Chair:  Vikram Gavini, University of Michigan

Vice-Chair: Dennis Kochmann, California Institute of Technology

Members: Jonathan Zimmerman, Sandia National Laboratories

Gregory Wagner, Northwestern University


Biological Systems K. Garikipati, R. Ghanem, H. Park

Chair: E. Kuhl, Stanford Univesrity

Vice-Chair: E. Budyn, U.Illinois-Chicago

Members: Vacant

P. Krsyl, University of California-San Diego


Manufacturing and Materials Processing D. Benson, T. Zohdi, J.N. Reddy

Chair: Adrian Lew, Stanford University

Vice-Chair: Caglar Okay, Vanderbilt University

Members: Haim Waisman, Columbia University

Wei Cai, Stanford University

Mathematical Methods in Computational Engineering & Sciences

L. Demkowicz, J.T. Oden, K. Garikipati

Chair: Jay Gopalakrishnan, Portland State University

Vice-Chair: Wilkins Aquino, Duke University

Members:  Ellen Kuhl, Stanford University

Guglielmo Scovazzi, Duke University

Large Scale Structural Systems and Optimal Design J.N. Reddy, J. Dolbow, L. Demkowicz

Chair: Glaucio Paulino, University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign

Vice-Chair: Ilinca Stanciulescu, Rice University

Members: Pablo Seleson, Oak Ridge National Laboratory